Day 2: Favorite Movie(s)

July 30, 2010 at 11:33 am Leave a comment

Welcome to Day 2 – movie day.  You thought I loved music (well I do…) – I LOVE MOVIES!!!  Ask my poor dear husband who has to suffer through me watching movies over and over again, or constantly speaking to him in movie quotes.  He’s not one to watch a movie more than once.  Me?  If I like it, I own it and I watch it continually!  So, you could probably already guess, I have many, many favorites.  So, I’m going to have to cut this post down and just choose a few (and by few I mean 8).  So again, in no particular order, some of my favorite movies:

Basically this movie is about a bank robbery.  It’s a Spike Lee film, so you know there’s more going on than that!  It’s amazingly put together (and doesn’t hurt that it stars Clive Owen *drool*) and keeps you guessing.  I’m not giving any more plot away because really, it would ruin the movie.  Watch it if you haven’t!

This movie cracks me up.  It brings back memories of my time working at camp.  There is a quote from this movie for EVERY situation in life and if you can’t find one, you’re not trying hard enough!  Tommy inherits an auto parts factory after the unexpected death of his father and has to go on the road to sell the new line of break pads – hilarity ensues!  Check it out!

One word: epic.  The movies are as beautifully crafted as the books!  Read the books!  Watch the movies and show some love for JRR Tolkien!  He wrote the books because he was a linguist and wanted to invent a language – but the story has lived on and on!

Joss Whedon is my master.  He has created the majority of my favorite TV shows, and doesn’t disappoint with Serenity, created to tie up the story line that was prematurely ended when Firefly was canceled 1/2 way through it’s first season.  The characters are rich and have more depth than the next 10 movies you’ll watch combined!  Not to mention they all kick some major ass!  If you like SciFi, you’ll love this – and watch the Firefly TV series first.  You won’t regret it!

While this movie is one of my favorites (again, Clive Owen), I haven’t been able to watch it in over 3 yrs.  It’s based on the short story by PD James (also one of my favorite books).  The premise is it’s the year 2027 and for the past 18 years no children have been born anywhere in the world – all humans have become infertile.  You can see why I may have a hard time watching this movie.  It’s an amazing story and really does give hope in the IF world, but hard to watch.  If you think you can handle the story line, give it a try.  I think it has a lot to say not only about fertility, but about the state of our world in general and where we could end up if just one thing were to change.

On the lighter side we have Kevin Smith’s brilliant Dogma.  HIGHLY irreverent but incredibly hilarious.  The basic premise is that there are 2 angels who had been tossed out of heaven eons ago and they’ve found a loop hole back in.  The problem is if they complete their plan existence will cease to be.  On top of all of this, God has gone missing and the only ones who can find him/her are a woman who works at an abortion clinic and 2 slackers from Jersey.  Yeah, I said it was irreverent!  Within all that though, it makes some great points on the state of faith and belief.  If you’re not easily offended give this one a shot!

And if you’re in for even MORE irreverence and lots of violence then Boondock Saints is for you!  It’s about 2 Irish twin brothers living in Boston who one night dream they have been called by God to rid the world of evil doers.  So they go on a killing spree.  Yup – violence.  It’s also incredibly funny (gotta love the gay FBI agent played by Willem Defoe) and even within the violence and terrible theology carried out by these 2 brothers you can find some meaning.  Warnings again to those easily offended and those who don’t appreciate blood and violence in a movie – if you can stand all that though, you must watch this movie.

And last but certainly not least, The Big Lebowski.  I think this is the only Cohen Brothers movie that I like.  The rest of them are just too far off of making any sense for me.  I like a good confusing movie, don’t get me wrong, but pointless and confusing gets a bit much (though I know that’s their thing, it’s just not for me).  But in the case of the Big Lebowski, it’s beautiful!  An unemployed slacker who’s passion in life is bowling and White Russians goes on a quest to replace the rug from his front room that was peed on by 2 thugs looking for a different Jeff Lebowski.  The Dude (Jeff Bridges) embarks on the quest only to be side tracked by kidnappings, nihilists, Vietnam vets (his best friend) and eccentric artists.  It’s a crazy good time.  Highly recommended!

Okay, well, that’s my pick of 8 favorite movies.  I have more, but I’ll spare you all of that!  I feel this is a fair representation of what I like :-D Stay tuned tomorrow for Day 3: TV programs (oy vey, I’m sorry, you’re gonna get another long one)!

Entry filed under: Movies. Tags: .

Day 1: Favorite Song Day 3: Favorite TV show(s)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Song lyric of the week…

"I bring you pain, the kind you can’t suffer quietly/Fire up your brain remind you inside you’re rioting/Society is slipping, everythings slipping away"
- Slipping from Doctor Horrible's Sing-a-long Blog

Books of 2010

Past Randomness

Workin' the Numbers

  • 89,476 Fantastic Wanderers!

My Blogoversary

I started this blog on 05/08/2003! Get your own free Blogoversary button!
July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

