Mickey Carroll

May 8, 2009 at 10:09 am 2 comments

wizard-of-ozSome of you know this, thought many of you may not, but I’m a HUGE Wizard of Oz fan.  I’ve been collecting memorabillia of the film and books since I was 8 – 1988, when the film turned 50 years old.  Ever since then I’ve usually gotten at least one WoOz item for a birthday or Christmas each year.  I have quite the collection which, sadly, is all in plastic tubs in a closet right now because I have no where else to put it in my apartment.  Some day it’ll see the light again.

I just saw some sad news today.  Mickey Carroll, one of the few remainig actors who played the Munchkins, died yesterday at the age of 89.  I remember hearing about Mickey while I was growing up.  There were a few times when he was doing events near my home and I always wanted to go, but never could.  Of all of the Munchkins, if you ever heard of one it was Mickey.  He was very proud of the work he did on that film and did countless events, openings and greetings.  He will be missed by the Wizard of Oz fans.

Entry filed under: Movies. Tags: , .

I’M SIX YEARS OLD TODAY!! Input appreciated

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Teena in Toronto  |  May 9, 2009 at 12:14 am

    Would you believe I’ve never seen the movie!?

    RIP.

    Happy blogoversary!

    Reply
  • 2. meggomae  |  May 11, 2009 at 11:29 am

    I still never believe the amount of people who have never seen it or who are afraid of it! I know a few people who were scared of the witch when they were little, so now they don’t like the movie. Sad…

    😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Song lyric of the week…

"I bring you pain, the kind you can’t suffer quietly/Fire up your brain remind you inside you’re rioting/Society is slipping, everythings slipping away"
- Slipping from Doctor Horrible's Sing-a-long Blog

Books of 2010

Past Randomness

Workin' the Numbers

  • 89,726 Fantastic Wanderers!

My Blogoversary

I started this blog on 05/08/2003! Get your own free Blogoversary button!
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

