Jannah

April 27, 2009 at 11:49 am Leave a comment

You may have read about my friends the Brekke’s in previous posts.  Susie and I have known each other for a very long time.  We went to camp together, we worked at camp together, we went to college together.  She and her family (husband Erik and daughter Jannah) currently live in Madison, WI.  It’s been great having them relatively close.  In about 3 hours I can swing up and visit them all, which isn’t bad considering most of my other friends outside of Chicago live 7+ hours away!  When Jannah was born, my husband Justin and I were named at godparents!  We take that role seriously and hope to be a large part of Jannah’s life and guide her on her way!

Well, happily Erik has accepted a position at Wheaton College in Wheaton, IL – a suburb of Chicago!  This will bring them much closer to us!  Yay!  They were there this past weekend looking at places to live so I went out Thursday night and stayed with them through Friday.  Friday morning they had a bunch of housing appointments, so Jannah and I spent some quality time together at the park.  They dropped us off on their way and we spent quite a bit of time swinging, sliding, swinging, picking dandelions, swinging, chasing squirrels, swinging…she really likes swinging!  When she was ready, we walked back to the hotel.  It wasn’t far, about 1/2 mile – but that’s a bit of a distance for an almost 2 year old!  She did great though.  Enjoying picking more dandelions and taking her time enjoying the walk.  I even found the perfect sized walking stick for her for a bit.  We had to cut through a townhouse development to get back to the hotel and I got CAKED in mud!  Here are some pics of our time at the park:

dsc05935

Going up the stairs, with dandelions in her hand!

dsc05937

Pretty Jannah in her sunglasses.

dsc05947

On the walk back…don’t you think she looks like Gandalf?

Had a great time with the rest of the Brekkes on Thursday night and Friday.  We played a lot of “Banangrams” which was a lot of fun!  Oh – and by the way Erik, “cagey” is too a word!  Check it out.  On Friday Erik went to the school and Susie, Jannah and I hung out.  Jannah napped a long time and then we took her swimming which she loves to do.  She jumps in, and goes under water, and floats around on her floting ring thing.  It was good to spend time with them.  I’m really looking forward to them all being closer to me!  My ultimate plan is to get all of my friends to move to the Chicago area…now I have Abbey & the Brekkes here.  Who’s next??

Entry filed under: Friend News. Tags: , , , .

New blog… Weekend Update…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Song lyric of the week…

"I bring you pain, the kind you can’t suffer quietly/Fire up your brain remind you inside you’re rioting/Society is slipping, everythings slipping away"
- Slipping from Doctor Horrible's Sing-a-long Blog

Books of 2010

Past Randomness

Workin' the Numbers

  • 90,365 Fantastic Wanderers!

My Blogoversary

I started this blog on 05/08/2003! Get your own free Blogoversary button!
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

