The problem with Christian music…

January 9, 2009 at 1:26 pm 2 comments

…is that it can be bad.  Really REALLY bad!  I went through a phase in High School where I only listened to Christian bands like Jars of Clay, Audio Adrenaline, DC Talk, Newsboys, etc.  I can still listen to those songs and enjoy the music, but the message is not the same to me.  My faith has changed since that point of my life, and Christian music just does not speak to me any more.  I would consider that music and lyrics about 1000 x’s better than this crap though!  Take a listen, read the lyrics, and cry people, just cry for the state of religion in our world:

(lyrics courtesy of Edger, the only place I could find the lyrics!)

Jesus is My Friend by Sonseed

Jesus is a friend of mine
Jesus is my friend
Jesus is a friend of mine
I have a friend in Jesus

He taught me how to live my life as it should be
He taught me how to turn my cheek when people laugh at me
I’ve had friends before and I can tell you that
He’s one who will never leave you flat!

Chorus

He taught me how to pray and how to save my soul
He taught me how to praise my God and still play rock and roll
The music may sound different but the message is the same
It’s just an instrumental praise his name

Chorus

Once I tried to run, I tried to run and hide
But Jesus came and found me and he touched me down inside
He is like a Mountie, he always gets his man
And he’ll zap you any way he can. Zap!

Chorus

He loves me when I’m right, He loves me when I’m wrong
He loves me when I waste my time by writing silly songs
He loves me when I’m quiet and I have nothing to say
He’ll love me when I’m perfect if I ever get that way

Wow – um, that’s REALLY bad!  All the info I found on Sonseed labeled them as a Ska band.  On behalf of all the Ska bands in the world, I’m offended by that!

I just want to point out a few of the lyrics, which I have highlighted above.  First, there’s this little jewel from Vs. 2:  “He taught me how to praise my god and still play rock and roll.”  I just want to point out that if that were true, the band Sonseed would not be playing and writting such crap.

Next is the entire Vs. 3 – what I would label “Jesus is my boyfriend” music.  I don’t think I really have to comment too much on that, just read it and think what you will.  However I do want to comment on the “zap”ing that Jesus apparently doess when he “finds his man”.  I’m just a bit uncomfortable with the thought of being zapped by God.  Dosen’t mesh with my theology.

My basic beef with this whole song is just the complete hollow theology that it is promoting.  It’s what some would call the “mountain top experience”, where you have that one experience of God in your life, and amazing moment.  There’s nothing wrong with these moments at all.  I’m all for it, but there is a section of Christianity that is focused solely on those moments and attempting to prolong those moments for years.  You end up with a hollow theology, you have no basis on which to fall back during harder times.  Many people loose faith because they’ve only been taught the happy go lucky faith with no substance.  This song has no substance.  It’s great that Jesus is your friend, I’m all for that – but don’t stop there!  Dig deep, question what you’re told, learn who God is on your own terms, not based on hallow faith.

Okay…done ranting for now!  Enjoy the song for what it is – something to watch and giggle at for the cheesyness.  I mean seriously, just watch the bass player and see if you don’t crack a smile!

Entry filed under: Ranting. Tags: , , , .

I’m too sexy for my job… HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. susq  |  January 13, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    Wow! Where did you find this?? It looks like it’s from the 70s or something!

    I like the “older” stuff, too. Jars, Caedmon’s Call, some of Jennifer Knapp’s stuff, Third Day,etc.

    Our choir has sung a few newer adapted praise type songs that are out there. I don’t mind some of Chris Tomlin’s stuff.

    Erik and I actually don’t buy many CDs…maybe one a year. But of our “christian” CDs in our small collection I’d say our favs are Handel’s Messiah and a group called David Crowder Band. The D. Crowder stuff has good lyrics that make me think, they’re actually good instrumentalists and I enjoy the main guys voice. We’ll have to listen to it the next time you visit 🙂

    There’s my bit. As for this selection above all I can say is “have fun mash pitting!!” hee hee.

    Reply
  • 2. Sally  |  January 29, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    Wow.

    Just,

    Wow.

    Your husband also made me say that exact thing today.

    wow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Song lyric of the week…

"I bring you pain, the kind you can’t suffer quietly/Fire up your brain remind you inside you’re rioting/Society is slipping, everythings slipping away"
- Slipping from Doctor Horrible's Sing-a-long Blog

Books of 2010

Past Randomness

Workin' the Numbers

  • 89,738 Fantastic Wanderers!

My Blogoversary

I started this blog on 05/08/2003! Get your own free Blogoversary button!
January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

