To tag or not to tag…

November 11, 2008 at 5:11 pm 6 comments

That is the question. My good friend Susie just tagged me. I’ll give this a shot, but I’m really bad at these things and usually end up just deleting it all before I post it. So, if you’re reading this, you all should feel very lucky I decided to go through with it!

I’m supposed to tell you readers 6 random facts/interesting/crative things about myself.

1. I basically have 3 1/4 degrees. In college (Luther College, Decorah, IA) I received BA’s in History and Religion. I was working on a minor in Africana Studies, but didn’t quite make it. I guess trying to do an entire minor degree your senior year doesn’t quite work! I also have an MA in Old Testament from Luther Seminary, St. Paul, MN.

2. I’ve started sewing. I do have a sewing machine that was graciously loaned to me by one of my pastors. It was her mothers machine and it’s been in their basement for years as she has her own. I’ve completed 2 projects: a bucket hat and a tank top. I’ve started a blog about my sewing adventures. If you’re interested, head on over to read about my bucket hat project!

3. My husband and I are attempting to be more green/organic. To that end we have now joined a total of 3 co-ops. One for meat, one for produce and one for dairy. We get our first batch of Raw milk in a week…yippie! We’re also learning to can (we’ve made one batch of tomato sauce). One of the reasons I took up sewing was to help further our goal of being able to provide most of our own goods. I also knit upon occasion. One day we hope to have a garden so we can grow most of our own produce as well. I’d like to start baking bread on a regular basis as well, so we can cut that cost down significantly.

4. I grew up in a small town in Minnesota called Spring Valley. Growing up, I always said I would stay in Minnesota and most likely stay in Spring Valley (Population 2,600). Of course, by the time I reached High School, I couldn’t wait to get out! I now live in Chicago, IL (Population 2,842,518). I LOVE Chicago!

5. I am an Aunt to 2 beautiful nieces and 1 adorable nephew. Nicole is 15, Hannah is 2 and Logan is 6. Logan is the newest addition, as his mother just married my brother in law. He’s a lot of fun and calls me Aunt Mae! I am also the god-mother of 1 amazing little girl. Jannah is her name, and she is the daughter of one of my best friends, Susie, who tagged me for this post.

6. YAY! I’m at 6!! Only one more thing to try and think about…crap…what should I tell you?? I LOVE TO READ!! I just ordered 4 new books today, and they probably won’t last me a month. When I get a new book, everything else takes a backseat and I read every spare moment I have. I love fantasy books the most. The more wizards, dragons, fairies, vampires the better! I also enjoy some SciFi…all fiction though. Not a fan of most non-fiction.

Whew! I made it…I will actually post this one! So now to tag others: Tripp. Obsquatch, Bethany, Christi, Sarah: Queen of Ur, Sister Robbin, David.

Entry filed under: shameless self promotion. Tags: , , , , .

Yes we can! Yes we did! Tagged by Tripp

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Natalie  |  November 12, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    I am Susie’s friend Natalie and she tagged me also. In my 6 random facts, I wrote how much I love fantasy books. I also love SciFi! Knitting, sewing, gardening are all of my favorite things. We have alot in common:)

    Reply
  • 2. Sally  |  November 12, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    So I’m looking for a new scifi book… to fill the time until the next Percy Jackson (and last…*sob*). What’s your recommendation?

    Reply
  • 3. meggomae  |  November 12, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    Have you tried the “So You Want to be a Wizard?” Series by Diane Duane? There’s 7 of them currently…that’s what I’d recommend based on your like of the Percy Jackson books. Are those any good? I’ve seen them on Amazon.com before…

    Reply
  • 4. Sally  |  November 13, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    They’re a riotous good time. I enjoyed them thoroughly. Not hard to read by any measure — just good clean fun. I’ll check out that series… Library, here I come!!

    Reply
  • 5. Natalie  |  November 13, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    I am in the process of reading Brisingr. It is really good so far:)

    Reply
  • 6. meggomae  |  November 14, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    I’m excited there will be at least one more Eragon book! I hope it doesn’t take as long to come out this time though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Song lyric of the week…

"I bring you pain, the kind you can’t suffer quietly/Fire up your brain remind you inside you’re rioting/Society is slipping, everythings slipping away"
- Slipping from Doctor Horrible's Sing-a-long Blog

Books of 2010

Past Randomness

Workin' the Numbers

  • 91,170 Fantastic Wanderers!

My Blogoversary

I started this blog on 05/08/2003! Get your own free Blogoversary button!
November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

