News in the Thornburgh World

May 8, 2008 at 10:21 am 2 comments

Well…now that it’s been officially announced in church, I thought I would share with you all my husband’s news: Justin is going to be applying to seminary to become a pastor!

\

This be him. He’s a wonderful husband, and he’ll make a terrific pastor! We’ll let you know more as events unfold, but the plan is for him to start somewhere in the fall of 2009, so we have sometime to prepare ourselves!

How do I feel about this? Happy, scared, nervous, ecstatic – all at the same time! I’m so happy that my dear love has finally felt his call and figured out what he wants to be when he grows up. Ever since I’ve met him, he’s been in a limbo state of not knowing where he was going in life, and not being happy in his current situation. I’ve been hoping since them for him to discover who he is and go for it, and I’ve been seeing that unfold since he found his new path. I’m very happy, and very proud!

Of course, I then have to think, what does that mean for me?? I’m going to be a pastor’s wife?? Really?? Me??? It’s frightening, but I can handle it. I just have to make sure to make my boundaries clear. I support Justin whole-heartedly, and will always be there for him! But he knows who I am and what I will be, we’ll just have to make sure everyone else knows about that ๐Ÿ˜€

Of course, one nice thing about Justin “getting a life” so to speak is that I can now see 1) where we are going as a married unit and 2) where I can go as an individual. In a way, Justin discovering his path has opened the doors for both of us. Once he has finished school and gotten his first church, I’m hoping I’ll be able to go back to school and finally go for my dreams!

So, we ask for your support! It’s going to be an interesting 3 years once he gets started! We’re hoping to be able to stay in our current apartment, but that will very much depend on what we can afford once school begins.

In other news, we had a nice weekend with a Sunday dinner cookout to get the week started right!

Our Host

This is our host Tripp. He grilled an AMAZING chicken marinated in curry. Wow was is tender and delicious! We have 2 grills – one for meat and one for veggies, as a few of those who come to Sunday dinner are vegetarians. I really hope they’ve read my post on Seitan = Satan! There were many people there, and a few new faces! We hope that this will be the first of many summer Sunday dinner cookouts to come! Here’s some highlights of the night:

This is Hank

There was a really fun game (I thought) where the object was to bounce beanie frogs off the bouncy thing and get them to land on numbered score cards worth 1-6 points. Hank found it much easier to simply thrown the frog directly on the point card that you wanted rather than going through the hassle of bouncing it and possibly missing your intended target. That Hank kid is a genious!

Sapperstein and Tripp’s mommy

Tripp’s wonderful mother was visiting this weekend, so she joined us for dinner. Also, last Friday, Tripp, Justin, Tripp’s mommy and I went to see “IRONMAN” – go see this movie! Drop what you’re doing now, go to the theatre, buy a ticket and see Ironman. It’s amazing!!! The script was wonderfully written, the casting was spot on, and the story was perfect! I give it 6 out of 5 stars!

Okay – also, we had a crasher…Roger!

At least he brought some wine ๐Ÿ˜€

There were fun times with “smashminton” as well – It’s like badminton, only there’s no net…or boundaries…or rules…or score keeping…basically it’s just running around the yard like a crazy person trying to hit the birdie with your racket and swearing. It’s good times ๐Ÿ˜€ Bethany had a bit of trouble with the concept though – you’re supposed to hit the birdie with your racket, not catch it!

A good time was had by all, and we’re looking forward to this coming Sunday at Carly’s place!

Entry filed under: Family, Friend News. Tags: , , , .

This is Incredible… Oh Hell’s Yes!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. susq  |  May 8, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    hey…miss ya ๐Ÿ™‚
    Did you get my message about Soren’s baptism and our plans for that weekend? Just wanted to be sure you got it. Hope you guys are doing great and having a good week. The poor Miss Girlie is not feeling too great. I’m not sure if she got Erik’s sickness or what, but she’s a poopin machine! Thankfully, she’s mostly happy except when it comes to changing her diaper. Well….enough about my life of poo. love ya ๐Ÿ˜‰ Sus

    Reply
  • 2. Danny Boy  |  May 8, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    Hey yo hit me up. Came across your site from beth’s site

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Song lyric of the week…

"I bring you pain, the kind you canโ€™t suffer quietly/Fire up your brain remind you inside youโ€™re rioting/Society is slipping, everythings slipping away"
- Slipping from Doctor Horrible's Sing-a-long Blog

Books of 2010

Past Randomness

Workin' the Numbers

  • 91,170 Fantastic Wanderers!

My Blogoversary

I started this blog on 05/08/2003! Get your own free Blogoversary button!
May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

