ed Words!! Oh…and a rant on pastors??

April 18, 2008 at 10:26 am Leave a comment

Um yeah…one more reason to love John Edwards!!!!!!! Whoever wins the Democratic nod to run for president, here is your running mate! You gotta love a politician that is willing to make fun of them selves! Universal Haircare indeed! All these folks need to stop listening to their campaign managers and start being themselves and letting loose (ie: John Edwards, Al Gore)! Al Gore is an amazing speaker…I heard his “Inconvenient Truth” presentation…he has amazing passion, humor and just a presence on stage. If he had run his campaign like that, we may have someone different in the White House right now. I love an politician that is willing to come on a show like the Daily Show or the Colbert Report and mock themselves, or do a comedy bit…even if in real life they aren’t really that funny, and they’re just reading off a card, it says something about their character that they’re willing to do it!

Bob Dole was on The Daily Show during the 2000 election. I remember watching in my dorm room. Bob Dole made a joke about there being a tie and then he would take over and become president. I’ve remembered that line ever since…here’s the video (I can’t get it to embed, so you’ll have to go direct to the Comedy Central website to see it…)

I remember thinking, “Man…if Bob Dole is always this funny, I wouldn’t mind voting for him!” Of course, I don’t think I really would, but it is important to me to have a candidate who is a real person and who is willing to be themselves. I find that important in most leaders. I’ve had this discussion with lots of people in relation to pastors. I know a lot of pastors…comes from having gone to seminary. To me, one of the most important traits that a pastor should have is the ability to be themselves at all times. The types of pastors that are one person with their friends and family and a completely different person in the pulpit anger me to no end. Be yourselves!!! Hear that all you pastor types??? No one is sinless…no one is perfect. You shouldn’t pretend that you are. I am more able, and willing, to relate to a pastor who is a real person, who makes mistakes and who is not perfect. The sinless perfect pastor up on the pulpit dressed in white every Sunday who is a fake person around their parishioners and hides their real life is fake. I don’t want a fake person – I won’t believe you, and I won’t listen to you. Be yourself…Jesus was human, you can be too!!

Wow…this post started somewhere and went somewhere completely different…sorry about that folks! Enjoy it anyway!

Entry filed under: Political, Ranting, YouTube. Tags: , , , , .

A FULL Weekend Manliness..Bruce Campbell has it!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Song lyric of the week…

"I bring you pain, the kind you can’t suffer quietly/Fire up your brain remind you inside you’re rioting/Society is slipping, everythings slipping away"
- Slipping from Doctor Horrible's Sing-a-long Blog

Books of 2010

Past Randomness

Workin' the Numbers

  • 89,731 Fantastic Wanderers!

My Blogoversary

I started this blog on 05/08/2003! Get your own free Blogoversary button!
April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

