Fred Phelps Strikes Again…

August 8, 2007 at 2:38 pm 1 comment

For those of you who have never heard of Fred Phelps, you’re lucky! He is a hater, and I mean that. He is completely intolerant of differences among people, especially homosexuality. If you would like to read about his views, this is a link to his website, though I caution you: it is extremely offensive and NOT for children!!!! He is a wretched man, and I don’t say that lightly. I only offer the link to his website so if you are so inclined, you can see what I mean for yourself, but please do be aware of what you’re stepping into!

The reason I am bringing this up: The “Rev” Fred Phelps and his “congregation” (made up almost entirely of his own family members) are planning a protest at the funerals of the victims of the Minnesota I-35W collapse. Yes, you read that correctly, he is going to PROTEST at a FUNERAL for people who died on a bridge collapse!!! What could he possibly have against the victims of this tragedy you may ask? Well, I’ll tell you: they are from Minnesota. That’s it. Phelps is of the mind that Minnesota is the “…Land of the Sodomite Damned.” He has put out a press release to announce his planned protest. Not only is this tactless and offensive, but it’s not the first time he’s done something like this! Phelps and his congregation, Westboro Baptist Church, have repeatedly protested the funerals of soldiers who have fallen in Iraq. Phelps’ hate for homosexuality is so intense, that he sees the USA as a godless nation, and feels that anything bad that happens is deserved because of that.

I’ve “dealt” with him before in a way. When I was in college, he was planning a protest at St. Paul Reformation Church in St. Paul, MN. The crime that time? The church was calling Anita Hill to be pastor of their church. Hill is a lesbian in an open and committed relationship, an act that is currently not sanctioned by the ELCA church (that is a completely different issue, which someday I’m sure I’ll touch on!) Phelps was planning to travel to MN to protest this. A group from my college, Luther College in Decorah, IA, went up in support of Hill. When we arrived, we filed into the church silently, not in protest, but in support of Rev. Hill. Phelps did not show up, though a few of his followers were there with horrible signs. Apparently he did not rate the event important enough for him to show up himself.

So, why am I blogging about all this? Because I want people to be aware. Unfortunately, I can’t run up to Minnesota again to be there in silent support of the victims and their families, but I would if I could! I want people to be aware of the things that Fred Phelps does, so they can speak out, and hopefully over power and silence him! His congregation is very small, but his voice is so loud, that he has many times been in the news. Here is a blogger who is deciding whether or not to organize a counter protest to Phelps’ message of hate at the funerals. I support whatever he decides to do! Stand up for what you believe in!

Entry filed under: Political, Ranting. Tags: .

The Next Food Network Star! Meez

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Devon  |  August 10, 2007 at 12:44 am

    Actually, the reason Mr. Phelps doesn’t go to many protests is that he is horribly ill. my friend Yurko grew up in KS and apparently knows he’s got some horrible disease. These are the things that make me want to go to Church again. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Song lyric of the week…

"I bring you pain, the kind you can’t suffer quietly/Fire up your brain remind you inside you’re rioting/Society is slipping, everythings slipping away"
- Slipping from Doctor Horrible's Sing-a-long Blog

Books of 2010

Past Randomness

Workin' the Numbers

  • 91,229 Fantastic Wanderers!

My Blogoversary

I started this blog on 05/08/2003! Get your own free Blogoversary button!
August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

