July 8, 2003 at 8:46 pm Leave a comment

Hey there everyone who reads this…

So, I was at work, trying to decide what to do for my Faith Day on Friday with my Afterschool kids. I decided it would be fun to do the “David and Goliath” story, one because we just talked aboot it in church, and two, because I have a Veggie Tales vid that would go along perfect with it. So I start reading the story, start to finish in the Bible, and then I keep going. Now, oddly enough, when I was little, I never knew the story of David and Goliath. For some reason, I must have missed that day in Sunday School classes. Sure, I had heard of David and of Goliath, but I had never been told what the story was. I don’t think I actually heard or read the story until much later, perhaps High School, or even college.

So, as I’m reading the story, and as I go further in 1 Samuel, I begin to develop some questions, and I think, what better way to get my questions out there and begin some good discussion but to put it on my blog! SWEET!! I have depth on my Blog now! So, here goes!

1. Now, this is one that we talked about in church, but I think it’s still a good one to discuss…while David is talking to Goliath, he says this in 1 Samuel 17:46-47 (NIV), “This day the LORD will hand you over to me, and I’ll strike you down and cut off your head. Today I will give the carcasses of the Philistine army to the birds of the air and the beasts of the earth, and the whole world will know that there is a God in Israel. All those gathered here will know that it is not by sword or spear that the LORD saves; for the battle is the LORD’s, and he will give all of you into our hands.” Okay…so, if God does not save by the sword and spear, why is it necessary to 1) Cut off Goliath’s head, after he is already dead (1 Sam 17:51) and 2) pummel the rest of the Philistines into the ground by chasing them, as they are running away from the battle and kill them all. This seems a bit contradictory to me. What do y’all think?

2. Okay, so now David is this big hero, he’s slayed the giant Goliath with excessive force and killed the rest of his army…Woo Hoo!! Go David Go!! So, he goes back home with King Saul, and as they enter the city, “…the women came out from all the towns of Israel to meet King Saul with singing and dancing, with joyful songs and with tambourines and lutes. As they danced, they sang: ‘Saul has slain his thousands, and David his tens of thousands.’” (1 Sam 18:6-7)

This causes King Saul’s blood to boil! But that’s not all folks! David repeatedly kills the Philistines for King Saul…at one point (in 1 Sam 18:24-27), Saul asks David for the foreskins (yes, FORESKINS) of 100 Philistine men as a bride price to marry his daughter Michal. Not only does David do this, he excels! He brings back 200 foreskins!! That’s a lot of foreskin, if you ask me (just what was Saul going to do with 100, let alone 200!!) It is then said in that same chapter, “The Philistine commanders continued to go out to battle, and as often as they did, David met with more success than the rest of Saul’s officers, and his name became well known.” (1 Sam 18:30)

Now, these are not just isolated incidents. On many, many occasions, David achieves fame, fortune, wives, respect, love and even the grace of GOD HIMSELF because of horrendous acts of violence and killing. It is said of David throughout the Bible, that he is an example of a good human being, listening to God…he only does 1 thing wrong, in his whole life that God does not like (let’s not forget Bathsheba here!). My question is…what’s going on here? David is a great person because of his extraordinary acts of pummeling and violence that he commits against the Philistines?? Does this strike a funny chord with anyone else out there? Help me out here…

3. Okay, one more point, and then I’ll go. In 1 Samuel 19:18-24, David is fleeing from King Saul due to jealousy (unfortunately, King Saul couldn’t kill as many Philistines as David, and had lost the LORD’s favor, and had gained the LORD’s Evil Spirit (another question lies here, but we’ll save that for later!)). As Saul sends people after him, to bring him back, they run into the prophet Samuel and begin to prophecy…what? What does that mean? Even Saul, when he goes after him himself, meets with the same fate! What in the wide word is going on here? Okay, I know what a prophet is, and I know what it means to ‘prophecy’ but, I don’t understand what this means, and why it happens…could someone throw me a bone here?

Thank you for all of you attention to this matter

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Song lyric of the week…

"I bring you pain, the kind you can’t suffer quietly/Fire up your brain remind you inside you’re rioting/Society is slipping, everythings slipping away"
- Slipping from Doctor Horrible's Sing-a-long Blog

Books of 2010

Past Randomness

Workin' the Numbers

  • 91,170 Fantastic Wanderers!

My Blogoversary

I started this blog on 05/08/2003! Get your own free Blogoversary button!
July 2003
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

